REVIEW: MAGIC DIARY: THE SIX

81r-KKb-TRp-QL-SY425

Title: Magic Diary: The Six
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Bub | Books-A-Million | Goodreads | Google Play | Kobo | Story Graph

Author: Elise LaValle
Website | Facebook | Goodreads | Instagram

Publisher: Elise LaValle

Date Published: April 12, 2024

Pages: 203

Genres: Fantasy, Fiction, Middle Grade,

Obtained: Free

Format: Ebook

Synopsis:

Vanilla Dawn Lavender has but one difference from normal stray she was born with pink fur. Other than that, she’s just a creative, nature-loving teenage kitten who lives with her family in the woods. One day, on a hike with her family, something extraordinary happens. Something that just might make Vanilla—and some friends she met along the way—much more than “normal.”Vanilla and her new friends end up having no choice but to go on an epic quest and fulfill a prophecy. But the prophecy never exactly said that they would win…Magic The Six is the first novel in the Magic Diary series. The story is a fun, magical tale of young cats (plus a dog!) who go on an adventure to save the world! This lower middle-grade novel is perfect for those looking to take a step into a world of cats and magic and prophecies.

My Review:

I got this book for free, in exchange for my honest opinion via Booksirens.

I love cats, I can see myself becoming an old cat lady. So when I saw this book, I knew I had to read it. I wanted to love this book, I really, really did. But I just didn’t enjoy it the way I thought I would. The writing felt clunky, and didn’t jive the way I thought it should. Typically, I find multiple POV’s a little confusing, however, at the start of every chapter it was announced which character was writing. Speaking of that, I really didn’t like that every character we met had to write in the diary.

I’m rating it a three, because it’s in the middle. I didn’t completely dislike the book, but I didn’t love it either.

Thank you, Booksirens and Elise LaValle for allowing me to review! As always, my review is my own opinion and thoughts. This review will be shared to my Instagram @fictionluxblog shortly.

My Rating:

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started