REVIEW: A COLD NIGHT FOR ALLIGATORS

207975432

Title: A Cold Night for Alligators
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Bub | Books-A-Million | Goodreads | Google Play | Kobo | Story Graph

Author: Viggy Parr Hampton
Website | Facebook | Goodreads | Instagram

Publisher: Horror Humor Hunger Press

Date Published: April 10, 2024

Pages: 306

Genres: Fiction, Horror

Obtained: Free

Format: Ebook

Synopsis:

Gullywasher’s of Georgia has been abandoned a long time… but it’s far from empty. A determined CDC epidemiologist goes rogue to tackle a mysterious outbreak in Savannah, only to find himself entangled with a pair of urban explorers and a dangerous, tortured soul in an abandoned theme park where dark forces stir. When a strange and deadly outbreak in Savannah, Georgia, baffles his colleagues at the CDC, epidemiologist Dr. Archibald Gruber sees their failure as his chance to solve the mystery and earn the promotion he craves.

His rogue investigation leads him to Gullywasher’s of Georgia, a long-abandoned amusement park, where he crosses paths with YouTube urban explorers Sid and Zeb Barkov. Unbeknownst to Gruber and the brothers, Gullywasher’s has become the haven for the increasingly dangerous outcast Leona Franks.Gruber’s quest for heroism quickly becomes a fight for survival as Leona awakens the malevolent, hungry forces that call the park home.

This science-speckled horror-thriller is action-packed with hair-raising suspense, paranormal threats, unquiet spirits, dark humor, and terrifying adventure.

My Review:

I got this book for free, in exchange for my honest opinion via Booksirens.

My lifelong dream is to be an epidemiologist. So naturally, when I read the synopsis, I knew I had to pick this up.

Leona finds herself drawn to Gullywashers after finding a flyer glued to her. She makes her way to the abandoned amusement park/aquarium and hunkers down. The place is perfect for her. Maybe too perfect?

Enter a rouge CDC epidemiologist Dr. Gruber who is currently investigating an outbreak of a fatal gastrointestinal illness, trying to redeem himself and be the hero. Gruber eventually meets up with Sid and Zeb Barkov who are in for an experience of a lifetime as they navigate the dangers of a drug dealer and the supernatural forces within Gullywashers.

The book started off a little slow for me, and I struggled with some of the language choices. That being said, this was such a unique horror read. I loved the epidemiology aspect intertwined with the traditional horror tropes.

Once I was a few chapters in, I was hooked! Hampton drew me into Gullywashers with her storytelling. This book had everything. Science, spookiness, supernatural elements, malevolent evil. It’s all a girl could ask for. If you’re a fan of those, you should definitely check this book out. I enjoyed the dynamic between Dr. Clements and Dr. Lucas. It perfectly captured what it is like to be in a male dominated field, with a senior who doesn’t really respect boundaries.

As much as I enjoyed the book, I’m giving it a 4, because it was a slow start. But all in all, it’s a great read the intertwines horror and humour.

Thank you, Booksirens and Viggy Parr Hampton for allowing me to review! As always, my review is my own opinion and thoughts. This review will be shared to my Instagram @fictionluxblog shortly.

My Rating:

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started