REVIEW: MY MURDER YEAR

195524970

Title: My Murder Year
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Bub | Books-A-Million | Goodreads | Google Play | Kobo | Story Graph

Author: Kate Larkindale
Website | Facebook | Goodreads | Instagram

Publisher: Evernight Teen

Date Published: October 6, 2023

Pages: 309

Genres: Fiction, Mystery, Romance, Young Adult

Obtained: Free

Format: Ebook

Synopsis:

Seventeen-year-old Stas Nonu has nothing more to worry about than looking like an oversized pumpkin in the bridesmaid dress her mother picked out for her wedding to her long-time partner, Mama K. Her father’s newfound religious beliefs are annoying and starting to cramp her style, but nothing to be really concerned about. Besides, Zane, the new guy she met at that party is way more interesting.

My Review:

I got this book for free, in exchange for my honest opinion via the author.

The only thing seventeen year old Anastasia (Stas) Nonu seemingly needs to worry about, is fitting into her bridesmaid dress her mother picked out for her in the wedding to her long time partner ‘Mama K.’ But when Stas finds her mother brutally murdered in her dance studio, her whole world is turned upside down. Fingers point to her father, and his newfound religion, and Stas finds herself in a tug of war between her mother’s family, her father’s family, and Mama K. Add into the mix, Zane a cute new guy Stas has met and the secrets he’s keeping from her, the poor girl doesn’t know what’s up and what’s down.

This book right here, is the reason I love being a book blogger and getting to work with authors. I get to work with amazing authors like this one, that I may not have known about otherwise. I can’t recommend this book enough. It has not just one mystery, but two. And those keep you guessing until the very end. For the longest time, we are in the dark just as Stas is, wondering if someone that’s crossed her path, it her mother’s murderer. I cried with Stas, I got angry with her. Basically, this book will give you all the feels and then some. It was well-written, and there was good character development. I loved watching Stas grow throughout the book.

This was a great read, that balances out the genres nicely. I would recommend this to anyone who loves a solid mystery with some romance sprinkled in.

My Rating:

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started