REVIEW: DOES LOVE ALWAYS WIN?

61377336

Title: Does Love Always Win?
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Bub | Books-A-Million | Goodreads | Google Play | Kobo | Story Graph

Author: Diane Billas
Website | Facebook | Goodreads | Instagram | Twitter

Publisher: Creative James Media

Date Published: June 20, 2023

Pages: 318

Genres: Fiction, LGBTQ, Romance, Young Adult

Obtained: Free

Format: Ebook

Synopsis:

Does Love Always Win is a sapphic coming of age young adult novel that explores coming out and understanding one’s sexual orientation.

Sam “Shorty” Daniels has a plan for her senior year, but her romantic life being a hot mess was not part of the agenda. Shorty quickly discovers she’s not attracted to her newest boyfriend and fellow marching band member Zack despite her many hours of daydreaming of what it would be like to date him. Their flirting previously had been so intense that those feelings have to come back again, right?

When Shorty’s asked to show the snarky new girl around high school, Shorty’s instantly intrigued by Kristy’s wit, and they bond over their love of writing. They quickly become inseparable, and Shorty has a breakthrough moment realizing why none of her other relationships worked out.

Just as Shorty is about to break up with Zack, her bitter ex-boyfriend Bryan threatens to out her to the entire school and Shorty’s conservative parents. Will Shorty be able to overcome Bryan’s ridiculous blackmail scheme and get her dream girl?

My Review:

I got this book for free, in exchange for my honest opinion via RABT.

Does Love Always Win? I can’t answer that, because it would spoil the reading experience. What I can tell you, is my own personal reading experience. This book is all about self-discovery as our main character Sam “Shorty” Daniels as she explores her sexuality and begins to fine out who she truly is. The characters (although shallow and predictable at times) are well-written and have a surprising degree of depth and complexity. I enjoyed seeing Shorty grow throughout the story, learn more about herself, and begin to accept herself as she is. I enjoyed the overall plot, however, I did think that parts of the story felt rushed. That being said, the story held my attention.

The message of the novel is multi-faceted and valuable. I consider this to be a well-written and well-edited novel, whose publication will be embraced with fervor and enthusiasm. I recommend this book and will eagerly anticipate future publications from this author.

My Rating:

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started