REVIEW: SHOWMANCES AND STAGE KISSES

showmances

Title: Showmances and Stage Kisses: A Coming-of-Stage Drama, Heights High #1
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Bub | Books-A-Million | Goodreads | Google Play | Kobo | Story Graph

Author: Bowden Walker
Website | Facebook | Goodreads | Instagram | Twitter

Publisher: Bond Street Publishing

Date Published: March 21, 2022

Pages: 362

Genres: Fiction, Romance, Young Adult

Obtained: Purchased

Format: Paperback

Synopsis:
Bright lights. Big city. The drama is just beginning.

NYC, 1984. With an off-the-scale IQ, Sebastian Weiss can do anything except talk to girls. And with his future meticulously planned by his multi-millionaire parents, all the seventeen year old nerd can see in front of him is Harvard and bone-crushing boredom. So hanging around the set of his best friend’s smash-hit soap is everything he wants… especially after a gorgeous bad girl is cast as his buddy’s kissing co-star.

Sam Macaulay can’t believe her luck. After drug use, a rotten boyfriend, and self-sabotage all but killed her career, the desperate young woman is elated to land a coveted gig making out with the guy every teenager dreams of. But despite their instant chemistry and off-camera carousing, she finds herself mysteriously drawn to his geeky rich-kid pal.

Deliberately blowing his college applications, Sebastian resists leaving the carefree life behind even as he watches the beautiful actress fall hard for his friend. But Sam feels torn in two when a personal tragedy brings her closer to both guys and she can’t decide between the teen idol and the last virgin standing.

Will a complex emotional triangle ruin everyone’s chance at happily ever after?

Showmances and Stage Kisses is the page-turning first book in the YA Heights High coming of age series. If you like MTV-era antics, confused teenage romance, and the struggle of youth to find themselves, then you’ll love Bowden Walker’s nostalgia-filled tale.

My Review:

If you’re looking for a teen drama, look not further. This book has it all: sex, drugs, and rock and roll. Okay maybe not the last part, but definitely sex and drugs. The narrative was a little difficult to follow at times, whenever the author would say ‘he,’ I sometimes had a hard time distinguishing between Nicholas or Sebastian, or any male character for that matter. I think Sebastian was written a little on the wacky site, but then again I found myself relating to him in the sense that I too often feel invisible and geeky.

I had only two icks with this book. The first being that I can’t seem to understand why Sebastian follows Nicholas around all the time. And I mean all the time. They can’t seem to go anywhere without each other. I get that they each have issues in their homes, but it just got on my nerves. Secondly, I think Sebastian is far too good for Sam. She only goes after him after Nicholas rejects her, and then she goes after Sebastian.

Oh, and a quick shout out to the author for mentioning Rick Springfield. My favourite artist.

Overall, it wasn’t a bad read, but I’m not sure if I would read it again.

My Rating:

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started